Ice Cream Music

June 3, 2007

I was making dinner in the early evening yesterday, and I heard that familiar music wafting closer and closer. An ice cream truck! It drove slowly down my side street in Cambridge.

I wasn’t in the mood for ice cream, but I wanted to endorse the concept, so I grabbed my wallet and ran to the door. The truck was driving the right speed for a bunch of excited kids to catch it. But I just couldn’t bring myself to act *that* young. So I watched lovingly as the truck reached the end of the street and turned left out of sight and earshot.

I’m back from a fascinating trip to New Orleans. I’ll be posting on that and other things soon…

2 Responses to “Ice Cream Music”

  1. Margaret Says:

    How funny. I just downloaded an “ice cream truck” ringtone. I love it, but it drives many people (who have more exposure to ice cream trucks than I have) nuts. One person’s nostalgia is another person’s annoyance, I guess.

  2. rekha6 Says:

    “Drives” people nuts. Cute. I imagine you’re playing with people’s Pavlovian impulses…


Leave a Reply

